Do not worry

Today I was reminded of the importance of living in the present and not to worry about the future. As Jesus said in his famous ‘Sermon on the Mount’:

So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:31-34)

Living like this is rather challenging in our time and in the Western culture. Planning ahead, reducing risk, organising and efficiency are all very important. We like to be in control of our lives. And it is challenging for me. I worry too much, I like to plan ahead, I like to have a sense of being in control of what is going to happen. But that is not helping me at all. I am not in control of the future, not even of what is going to happen in the next hour. God is in control, and he knows what I need. All I can do is to seek his kingdom and his rightousness, and then I will be given everything I need as well. All I have is today, this moment. I can honor, praise, serve and obey God and love the people around me today, in this moment. Hard as it can be, living like this is very attractive. There is no need for regrets about the past, no place for worries about tomorrow, or next week, or what I am going to do next year. There is only this moment.

I would really like to live like that. Starting… tomorrow.

{Inspired by: The Will of God as a Way of Life: How to Make Every Decision with Peace and Confidence, by Jerry Sittser}

Leave a Reply

